Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


The Bronx is the northernmost of the Five Boroughs of New York City. It is also the newest of the 62 counties of New York State. Located northeast of Manhattan and south of Westchester County, New York, the Bronx is the only borough situated primarily on the North American mainland. In 2009, the U.S. Census Bureau estimated that the borough's population on July 1, 2008 was 1,391,903, inhabiting a land area of 42 square miles (109 square kilometers).

This makes the Bronx the fourth-most-populated of the five boroughs, the fourth-largest in land area, and the third-highest in density of population. All DWI DUI cases are handled by the Bronx District Attorney’s Office, in there Criminal Court Bureau. The NYPD is the usual arresting authority with many of this arrests coming from the Highway Unit. This is a special unit who mainly conducts DWI DUI checks for violation of New York DWI DUI laws.